Two roads diverging, one leads to whisky, one to wine.

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,

What’s that got to do with the Wade Bales Wine & Malt Whisky affair (or does protocol dictate that I have to mention the sponsors, BNP Paribas Cadiz Securities? I think I should, so thanks to them, blessed are the corporates, who provide the funding to make whisky festivals happen;) And hey, to the cynics: whisky lovers need a big brother because whisky is a labour of love, so deal with it and learn to live with the accountants and corporates. And hey, some of my best friends are accountants.

You see, there is a dilemma that confronts most people that come along to the show. And that involves a choice. That choice is wine or whisky, the grape or the grain. The public has one night only, 6 to 9 THIS FRIDAY to come along to the show. That’s it. Blink – and it’s gone. The choice of sampling some of the most superb wines from outstanding estates – or – enjoying some of the best whiskies in the world. Ah, decisions decisions…

This year there are Masterclasses – Professor whisky Hector Mc Beth is doing one, I know.

Of course you can try squeeze in whisky and wine and perhaps proper planning, like arriving at 6, spending an hour on wines, taking in a light dinner and then the rest of the evening with whisky. And for most, I suppose it could. But there are so many good wines, so much to discover, so many classic whiskies, so much to enjoy, will 3 hours be enough?

I don’t know.

But I do know that whether you take the wine road or the whisky road or decide to travel both, you’ll have a wonderful time.

See you there.

Oh – I’m the guy who’ll be taking you round Glen Grant.

